The University of Nairobi Vice-Chancellor Professor Stephen Kiama on 11th June 2020 chaired the East and Southern African (ESA) Regional Committee. The newly formed ESA Committee is a regional committee for the Association of Commonwealth Universities (ACU) whose headquarters are in London, United Kingdom. The ACU has over 500 member universities in 50 countries across the Commonwealth with network coverage of over 10 million students and more than 1 million academic and professional staff. The main objective of ACU is to strengthen regional and international collaboration across the Commonwealth universities.

The ESA Regional Committee is composed of nine members represented by Vice-Chancellors: the University of Nairobi (Chairperson), Technical University of Kenya, University of Malawi, the University of Rwanda, University of Dar-Es-Salaam, University of Pretoria, University of Witwatersrand, Makerere University and the University of Zambia.

To read more about ACU please CLICK HERE.