About Us

The inception of the University of Nairobi is traced back to 1956, with the establishment of the Royal Technical College which admitted its first lot of A-level graduates for technical courses in April the same year. The Royal Technical College was transformed into the second University College in East Africa on 25th June, 1961 under the name Royal College Nairobi and was admitted into a special relations with the University of London whereupon it immediately began preparing students in the faculties of Arts, Science and Engineering for award degrees of the University of London. Meanwhile, students in other faculties such as the Faculty of Special Professional Studies (later renamed Faculty of Commerce) and Faculty of Architecture continued to offer diplomas for qualifications of professional bodies/ institutions. On 20th May 1964, the Royal College Nairobi was renamed University College Nairobi as a constituent college of inter-territorial, Federal University of East Africa, and henceforth the enrolled students were to study for degrees of the University of East Africa and not London as was the case before. In 1970, the University College Nairobi transformed into the first national university in Kenya and was renamed the University of Nairobi. In view of the rapid expansion and complexities in administration, the University underwent a major restructuring in 1983 resulting in decentralization of the administration, by creation of six (6) campus colleges headed by principals.

The following are the names and respective locations of the colleges:-

• College of Agriculture & Veterinary Sciences situated at Upper Kabete Campus

• College of Architecture & Engineering situated at the Main Campus

• College of Biological & Physical Sciences situated at Chiromo Campus

• College of Education & External Studies situated at Kikuyu Campus

• College of Health Sciences situated at the Kenyatta National Hospital Campus

• College of Humanities & Social Sciences situated at the Main Campus – Faculty of Arts; Parklands Campus-Faculty of Law; Lower Kabete Campus-Faculty of Commerce

The University is managed by the Central Administration, which is made up of 3 Divisions name:

(i) Administration Division, which is in charge of recruitment and training among other functions.

(ii) Planning Division, which is in charge of planning and publications among other functions. (iii) Academic Division, which is in charge of management of academic programmes among other functions. The Office of the Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Academic Affairs) is responsible for supporting the work of the academic staff, whose teaching, advising, and scholarship brings the academic program to life.

The Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Academic Affairs) oversees: the University curriculum and new curricular initiatives; academic staff hiring and promotion; support for teaching; and the administration of all academic departments and programs, the library, and offices within the division of Academic Affairs.

The Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Academic Affairs) is a core participant in the University's budget development and strategic planning.

The Academic Division is made up of the following Sections: -

Academic Registrar’s Office - Academic ICT- Admissions Office -Examination Office -General Students Affairs-Office of DVCAA-Student Records and Statistics- Deans/Senate Secretariat


The Academic Division has the following functions: - Preparation of Syllabus and Regulations, - Co-ordination of examinations, - Undergraduate students admissions, - Research supervision, - Academic staff development, - Management of student records 3. PHILOSOPHICAL FRAMEWORK Mission To provide excellent services to students and stakeholders in the management of academic programmes and to facilitate efficient policy formulation and implementation of the decisions of the University management on academic issues and those that enhance the development of a holistic student.


To be a provider of excellent academic support services that are comparable to the best Universities regionally and globally.

Core Values

Truth, Integrity, Honesty, Tolerance, Professionalism, Team-work Meritocracy Ethical practices Creativity Innovative Openness Transparency ,Leadership ,Respect ,Protect the environment.

Quality Objectives

  1. To annually monitor the implementation of Academic Programmes.
  2. To provide logistical support to University Management by communicating Senate decisions within two weeks.
  3. To annually improve on the admission processes as per the Senate approved schedules.
  4. To enhance the use of SMIS from 70% to 100% and use of ICT for effective academic service delivery.
  5. To ensure timely implementation of examination processes as per Senate approved Examination Schedules.
  6. To provide student records data and statistics services as required by clients in an efficient and effective manner.
  7. To design, develop, implement and quality assurance system that reinforces adherence to regulatory and statutory requirements.
  8. To manage student welfare and disciplinary matters humanely to produce a holistic graduate.

The Academic Division will continue to provide leadership and oversight in curricular matters, the development and administration of academic policies and standards, academic staff development, and the use and improvement of academic facilities.This will ensure the University of Nairobi becomes a world-class University.